Dienstag, 2. September 2014

0412 Malta - Mlata, Gozo & Camino

private swap

Malta is an island country comprising an archipelago of seven islands in the Mediterranean Sea.
There are three islands of Malta: Gozo, Comino and Malta. 
Victoria, the capital of Gozo, is also known as Rabat. It's famous for its beautiful Cittadella, which goes way back to the Middle Ages. 
Comino, the smallest of the islands, is virtually uninhabited--save one hotel-and is carless. Blue Lagoon is its biggest attraction and it's not hard to see why. :)
Malta was earlier known as Melita, meaning the island of honey, by ancient Greeks and Romans. 
People have lived here for thousands of years. There are underground dungeons and rooms, churches and amphitheaters built by the Romans. The island is rocky and the soil is poor, but the country has been a strong shipping region for centuries. Boats traveling between Africa and Europe stop here. 

Keine Kommentare:

Kommentar veröffentlichen