Donnerstag, 17. Oktober 2013

0200 Caribbean - The West Indies

private swap 

     The Spanish West Indies also known as "Las Antillas Occidentales" was the contemporary name for the Spanish colonies in the Caribbean.
    It consisted of the present day nations of Cuba, Haiti, the Dominican Republic, Puerto Rico, Saint Martin, the Virgin Islands, Anguilla, Montserrat, Guadalupe and the Lesser Antilles, Jamaica, the Cayman Islands, Trinidad, and the Bay Islands.
    The islands that later became the Spanish West Indies were the focus of the voyages of Christopher Columbus in America. Largely due to the familiarity that Europeans gained from Columbus's voyages, the islands were also the first lands to be permanently colonized by Europeans in the Americas. The Spanish West Indies were also the most enduring part of Spain's American Empire, only being surrendered in 1898 at the end of the Spanish-American War.  

Here is series of cards "The West Indies"

Keine Kommentare:

Kommentar veröffentlichen